Well I thougth I was doing a half decent job at Vancity. But obviously I am not. Last pay period, just before I got paid I decided to pay off all my debits. Car deductables, credit cards (yes cards) and rent. After all that I had a respectable $30 in my bank account. I checked on friday morning (pay day) to find $69 deposited into my account. So $69 for 8 days of work.... I am not good at math (and evern worse than most non bankers) and I still think that is a bit of an oversight. It turns out the paid me for 4 hours of work, instead of the 60 or so I worked. Now if they paid me on performance then I could of understood that. But if you pay by the hour the have no excuse!! Hopefully tomorrow (pay day) I will be getting at least $200 for a months worth of full time work. Then I might be able to buy some socks for work, ankle socks don't seem to be flying so well there. Anyways that is the rant for now.
P.S. Listen to Sam's Town by the Killers it will grow on ya.
12.10.06
24.9.06
New Phone
Well I finally got a new phone. Unfortuneately I had to get a new number (778-892-0203). I don't know how to check my voice mail yet so don't leave any. You can text me or call, please I am lonely. Anyways I love my new phone, cept for the fact that I can't get any new games on it. But I suppose they call it a phone and not a playstation for a reason. Other than the obvious reason that the word "playstation" is ghey. Playstation. . . *pshtt* I want to play Paris Hilton's Diamond quest right now damn it! Allright I am done here and now I will leave with with a quote from a great man.
"You think it's a good idea to hit the sauce with a bun in the oven?"
-Steve Zissou (My Mentor)
3.9.06
Black cat, I am.
Well I haven't posted in quite sometime. Not like people are reading this and if they are shame on you for not commenting. Anyways I have been super busy with work and everything else that comes with life. Things are starting to get manageable so i thought why not write a post to your faithful minions.
There was a lil mishap a week ago... I was borrowing Kayla's car while she was in Winnipeg. I decided it would be nice to be able to get to work on time to my new job. Or before I drove it to work I got a bylaw ticket. Then I drove it to work and parked it 30 feet from the door of and BANK! When I went for lunch the car was gone. I thought "ha ha they are playing a joke on the new guy." But when I starting filing a police report and none of them fessed up I was pretty sure it was for real. Excuse me but how the hell does a car get stolen in front of a bank? I never knew that was a shady part of town... I didn't leave it running on the corner of Hastings and Main. That was the beginning of a great week. Oh yeah my phone was in the car as well. So I hope to have a new phone by the end of the week.
My Cousin came down from Grindrod for a week to hang out with is sure cool cousin. He has only grown like 2-3 inches since I last saw him (a few months ago). As usual I am more crafty and beat him up, but not with out a crippled back and bruises for my troubles. With what little time I had not working I was hanging out with him, playing more videogames than I should in a full month and getting less sleep than humanly thought possible.
So I have been work at Vancity for 3 weeks now. I am getting the hang of all the procedures and am feeling more confident. I was worried when the other new person was progressing faster than I (seemingly). But I have been huge fuck up free for the last while which is not the same for her. So I don't feel like I am lagging behind and getting closer to the swinging axe.
My restaurant job at the Orange Club is also going well. We are understaffed and mismanaged (that is what happens when you hire your friends & family). But since the review in the north shore news it has been quite busy. The live music on Friday nights by Ambre (www.ambresong.com) is great. I would love to see all of you there sometime so drop on in. If any cute girls are interested we are looking for servers.
Well that seems like a substantial post. It's no mega post but it will have to do. I hope everyone is well.
There was a lil mishap a week ago... I was borrowing Kayla's car while she was in Winnipeg. I decided it would be nice to be able to get to work on time to my new job. Or before I drove it to work I got a bylaw ticket. Then I drove it to work and parked it 30 feet from the door of and BANK! When I went for lunch the car was gone. I thought "ha ha they are playing a joke on the new guy." But when I starting filing a police report and none of them fessed up I was pretty sure it was for real. Excuse me but how the hell does a car get stolen in front of a bank? I never knew that was a shady part of town... I didn't leave it running on the corner of Hastings and Main. That was the beginning of a great week. Oh yeah my phone was in the car as well. So I hope to have a new phone by the end of the week.
My Cousin came down from Grindrod for a week to hang out with is sure cool cousin. He has only grown like 2-3 inches since I last saw him (a few months ago). As usual I am more crafty and beat him up, but not with out a crippled back and bruises for my troubles. With what little time I had not working I was hanging out with him, playing more videogames than I should in a full month and getting less sleep than humanly thought possible.
So I have been work at Vancity for 3 weeks now. I am getting the hang of all the procedures and am feeling more confident. I was worried when the other new person was progressing faster than I (seemingly). But I have been huge fuck up free for the last while which is not the same for her. So I don't feel like I am lagging behind and getting closer to the swinging axe.
My restaurant job at the Orange Club is also going well. We are understaffed and mismanaged (that is what happens when you hire your friends & family). But since the review in the north shore news it has been quite busy. The live music on Friday nights by Ambre (www.ambresong.com) is great. I would love to see all of you there sometime so drop on in. If any cute girls are interested we are looking for servers.
Well that seems like a substantial post. It's no mega post but it will have to do. I hope everyone is well.
16.8.06
New job: First dozen hours.
I started my job at Vancity Credit Union on Tuesday. My first day which was a short one, was mostly getting paper work filled out and getting an account there. Oh yeah they also gave me a gold visa which is probably the worst thing any human can do. Then I was introduced and started shadowing my jedi master Alex Noriega. Today was just a lot more shadowing, looking like a lost sheep looking over Alex's shoulder (not hard since he's 5'6" at the most). He told me that I will be starting to post tomorrow (putting transactions through). I must admit I am a lil gun shy, since people are trusting me with hundreds of thousands of dollars. I guess it's my job so I better step up. I am one step closer to becoming a real teller. Once that happens you all have to come in a get accounts and Visas' from me. I hope to see you all there.
5.8.06
Credit Uninon: Bank with a Conscience
I have managed to land my self a real job. No offense Ruddy, you served me well and I love you. Real jobs consist of people who dress right, are not in high school and get shot for being 3 hours late. I have wanted to work in a bank for a long time now (don't ask me why). I eventually want to become an investment advisor. So step one is to get a job at a bank so I get on with it. Landing a job at a bank is harder than I thought. After a plethora of online applications, nothing was happening. Then I met the manager of Vancity at my old job (Chez Michele). After a rigorous game of phone tag I laded an interview last Wednesday. Everything seemd to go well but of course I worried to no end. Having the biggest opportunity dropped right in my lap, if I screwed it up I would not forgive myself. So on Friday I got the call and barring a criminal record I have the job! I really feel like this is another big step in my life. I guess I need to buy a house now or soemthing...
20.7.06
Ramen: Noodles of the gods.
When you die, if you have the choice of regular heaven or ramen heaven. Choose ramen heaven. It might be a trick but if it's not, mmm boy! Anyways, I can't stop thinking about or eating ramen. Ramen is Japanese noodles with broth originating from China (Beaty take note of that). Most people I eat out with I drag them to Kintaro Ramen (corner of Denman and Robson). That is without a doubt the best ramen in Vancouver and maybe the world... Ok maybe that is going too far. But any soup where you get to choose your choice of light, medium or rich broth and lean or fatty pork is in my good books. The best part of Kintaro has to be that it only sells Pepsi!!! I am a strong believer that Pepsi is the lesser of two evils, yet still very evil. Simon Cowell evil or maybe Ryan Seacrest evil. I was just there an hour ago sweating in the tiny restaurant that is well of 30 degrees inside. Anyone who hasn't been there must do immediately, unless you are vegetarian. In that case please become a carnivore and go there.
P.S. The picture above is actual ramen from Kintaro.
11.7.06
The Lost Mac Ads.
Well I guess this is my first real post. Let me just say this. Macs are great and I have used them for quite a while before swtiching to a PC. But I also hate terrible ads and the new mac ads make me want to never buy an Apple product ever again. So watch, learn and enjoy, because knowledge is power!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
